Physical Education Colleges

M.R.S. Punjab Police Academy


Guru Nanak Dev University

About College

The Phillaur fort  has a fascinating history behind it. Situated on the Grand Trunk  Road,  it  has a great  historical background. The  town  of  Phillaur in which  the  fort is located owes it origin to a Sanghera Jat, Phul,  who named it after himself as “Phulnagar”. The Naru Rajputs of Mau,  a nearby  township, had  cast covetous  eyes  on  Phillaur  and  eventually under their Chief Rae Shahr  they wrested it from the Jats. Rae Rattan  Pal,  the son of Rae Shahr, liked it so much that he abandoned Mau and settled in Phillaur. The Jats then left the place.Later, however, at some period unknown, the  Rajputs also deserted it. Nothing is known thereafter until the reign of the  Mughal  Emperor Shah  Jahan  (1627-1658) when  an  imperial  Sarai  was  built  at  Phillaur. 

Later, the town was   occupied  by Kakarah Sikhs  and  held  until  Mahraja  Ranjit Singh (1780-1839) seized all  the Kakarah Estates. After  the  collapse  of  the Mughal Empire, Maharaja Ranjit Singh sent  Dewan Mohkam Chand,about the year 1809, to take possession of the Imperial Serai and converted it into  a formidable Fort with the help of his French and Italian officers, namely Generals Ventura, Allard, and Avitabile. It  was built  in  reply  to  the  British  who  had  built a  small  Fort  at Ludhiana on the  remnants said to be of an old Lodhi Fort, and to guard  the  ferry of Phillaur. The British occupied this Fort in 1846  after the Sikhs  were  defeated in the battle of Aliwal. Phillaur, thereafter, became  a Cantonment  and  Fort remained under the charge of Army authorities till 1890 when it  was handed over to the  Civil authorities and has been used thereafter for police training purposes. The fort was renamed as 'Maharaja Ranjit Singh Fort' by the Punjab Government by a notification dated 6th April, 1973




  • M.Phil.
  • MA
  • Ph.D.

All Reviews 0 Comments

Write your Comment